Founded in 1943, The Central Ontario Building and Construction Trades Council (COBT) was originally known as the Toronto Building Trades. Our name was changed to better reflect the geographical areas we represent, including: Northumberland County, the County of Peterborough, the County of Simcoe, the County of Haliburton, the District Municipality of Muskoka, the City of Toronto, Regional Municipality of York, the Regional Municipality of Peel and the portion of Halton east of Trafalgar, the Regional Municipality of Durham and the City of Kawartha Lakes (formerly the County of Victoria).

The COBT represents 25 trade union affiliates and over 80,000 skilled men and women, united as one voice for the construction industry. We are very proud of the collaborative relationships we enjoy with our affiliates as we advocate on behalf of them and our members to support the families and communities that we represent.